My (So Far) Favorite Looks from Spring 2015

If you’re like me, you’ve woken up every morning since September 4 with that “I’m king of the world!” feeling of endless possibilities soaring through your soul. If you’re not like me, allow me to remind you that we are in the midst of #NYFW (that’s New York Fashion Week, for the less informed among us).

nyfw2-01

So before this week of sartorial majesty draws to a close on the 11th, I wanted to fill you in on all the shows and trends I’m already obsessed with from the Spring 2015 Ready-to-Wear collections.

I totaled it up, and there are close to 30 shows I’ve digested and have swimming around in my head, taking up the spot previously home to algebra. Ha-ha! Just kidding. Algebra packed up shop two years ago.

So without further ado, I have undertaken the supremely difficult and grueling task of narrowing 27 (and growing) shows of amazingness into 10 shows, and within that, my favorite looks. So, you’re welcome.

openingceremony-01

One of my favorite collections that almost topped absolutely everything was Opening Ceremony. I would like to be married in no less than 11 of the presented looks. Below I’ve listed my top six.

I especially loved that OC had some of my favorite actresses interspersed with the runway models. Namely Alia Shawkat from Arrested Development, but I digress.

I think OC really nailed the girly-meets-edgy-B.A. balance, which is a difficult look to get quite right. For me, I loved the rigid tailoring in the jackets and the hard asymmetric (as well as symmetric) angles on the shifts’ hemlines.

And ever since my summer in NYC, I’m a sucker for black and white, so the subtle use of pastels coupled with black and white was supreme. The geometric patterns aren’t something I’ve seen before, and the cutouts on that last black shift below are doing great things for me. #YASS

Courtesy of Opening Ceremony

Courtesy of Opening Ceremony


Courtesy of Opening Ceremony

Courtesy of Opening Ceremony


Courtesy of Opening Ceremony

Courtesy of Opening Ceremony


Courtesy of Opening Ceremony

Courtesy of Opening Ceremony


Courtesy of Opening Ceremony

Courtesy of Opening Ceremony


Courtesy of Opening Ceremony

Courtesy of Opening Ceremony

donnakaran-01

Donna Karan’s collection for spring was a twist on the classics without being the least bit stuffy. And again, I want pretty much all of it to relocate to my closet.

Nipped waists, thick shoulder straps and cropped tops that revealed just enough seemed the perfect playsuits for a night out. The looks kept it glam, introducing sophisticated silhouettes that looked comfy-chic without playing it too safe.

Street art offered the inspiration for the patterns, which only helped to cement the collection as a serious must-have for city-slicking trendsetters.

It’s a good thing those industrial buckle fastenings are securing the dresses in place — I’m sure it was a great theft deterrent for first-rowers.

Yannis Vlamos / Indigitalimages.com

Yannis Vlamos / Indigitalimages.com


Yannis Vlamos / Indigitalimages.com

Yannis Vlamos / Indigitalimages.com


Yannis Vlamos / Indigitalimages.com

Yannis Vlamos / Indigitalimages.com


Yannis Vlamos / Indigitalimages.com

Yannis Vlamos / Indigitalimages.com

alexanderwang-01

Alexander Wang, where shall I kick it off? I want to start on the right foot.

Okay already, that’s two too many shoe puns. Yet, I regret nothing.

Alexander Wang’s spring collection borrowed from the footwear handbook with dresses, skirts and bags taking style cues from tennies. Heels resembled Nike flyknits, while foam imprints in dresses looked remarkably like sneaker treads.

The dresses are definitely designed with the youth in mind, as neon day-glow doesn’t seem to be popping as much with the 40+ crowd. But that means I’ve still got 20 years to wear them proudly. Also, don’t they look like some off-duty superhero costume?

Sidenote: Those bags are freaking cool, and not just because toting something that athletic around all day must be synonymous with one gym workout. They’ll probably at least bless their carriers with the gift of balance, so that for the one day you tote them you can sprint across cobblestones in stilettos.*

*Don’t quote me on that.

Yannis Vlamos / Indigitalimages.com

Yannis Vlamos / Indigitalimages.com

Yannis Vlamos / Indigitalimages.com

Yannis Vlamos / Indigitalimages.com

Yannis Vlamos / Indigitalimages.com

Yannis Vlamos / Indigitalimages.com

Gianni Pucci / Indigitalimages.com

Gianni Pucci / Indigitalimages.com

Gianni Pucci / Indigitalimages.com

Gianni Pucci / Indigitalimages.com

reemacra-01

Reem Acra clearly began this collection by conversing with multiple storybook gown-making fairies and magical cartoon woodland creatures with a penchant for sewing because, to quote Hillary Duff, “Hey now, hey now. This is what dreams are made of.”

Just look at this refinery! The expert use of tough gal metallics woven around winks of skin-baring cutouts made me want to grab a prince-turned-beast and twirl around a ballroom.

I could see myself in each of the looks, and I toss my hat particularly high for the coral and blue number. In my humble opinion, it didn’t gel as smoothly with the ornately detailed gowns that preceded it, but on its own looked surprisingly current and on-trend for a floor-sweeping gown.

Marcus Tondo / Indigitalimages.com

Marcus Tondo / Indigitalimages.com

Marcus Tondo / Indigitalimages.com

Marcus Tondo / Indigitalimages.com

Marcus Tondo / Indigitalimages.com

Marcus Tondo / Indigitalimages.com

oscar-01

Oscar de la Renta is always flawless and breathtaking. This spring, the story’s no different. I am in love with the eight looks below. Liberal use of gingham and intricate laser-cut floral detailing is a recipe for sartorial spring magic, and as usual, Oscar’s spell left other ladylike outfitters in the dust.

Each dreamy dress confection seemed to float its wearer down the aisle, though beautifully embroidered coats and heavily bejeweled necklines did their best to keep the models grounded.

Also, props for the Kimye flower wall set design.

Fabio Ion�� /Indigitalimages.com

Fabio Ion�� /Indigitalimages.com

Fabio Ion�� /Indigitalimages.com

Fabio Ion�� /Indigitalimages.com

Fabio Ion�� /Indigitalimages.com

Fabio Ion�� /Indigitalimages.com

Fabio Ion�� /Indigitalimages.com

Fabio Ion�� /Indigitalimages.com

Fabio Ion�� /Indigitalimages.com

Fabio Ion�� /Indigitalimages.com

Fabio Ion�� /Indigitalimages.com

Fabio Ion�� /Indigitalimages.com

Fabio Ion�� /Indigitalimages.com

Fabio Ion�� /Indigitalimages.com

richardchai-01

It’s tough for me to put my finger on exactly why I love this one look from Richard Chai so much. I think it’s the simplistic pairing of a crew-neck pullover with a flippy miniskirt, followed by the glitzy metallic in-your-face sheen of the garments.

It’s like saying, “Okay, I’ll dress in ‘normal people’ clothes for fashion week. But then I’ll roll around in glitter because I don’t care what you think.”

Richard Chai, I care what you think, and I want to be on your brainwaves. Well done.

Kim Weston Arnold / Indigitalimage.com

Kim Weston Arnold / Indigitalimage.com

dkny-01

Give me a punchy pattern, cropped top and up-to-there hemline, and you’ve got my vote for Queen of Cool.

DKNY had some awesome matching sets, which I’m all about. The twist-around sides on the tops are genius, and I want them.

But what is the deal with the hair? I even saw someone already do a how-to for mimicking this hair trend, but I have to say I’m not feeling it. It reminds me of what my hair looks like after a blazingly hot workout. As for me, I would shower at that point, not reach for the hairspray.

But you do you, girl, you do you.

Kim Weston Arnold / Indigitalimages.com

Kim Weston Arnold / Indigitalimages.com

Kim Weston Arnold / Indigitalimages.com

Kim Weston Arnold / Indigitalimages.com

viviennetam-01

Vivienne Tam was leader of the geometrically-sound pack, with crazy cool designs and graphic prints all over the place.

A+ for the wings dress, and I have surprised myself with how much I’m loving V’s take on the ugly shoe trend. If your sandals are too mainstream, let’s add some socks! I love the opaque additions, and I’m already cruising the interwebs for my own pair. Does this mean socks and heels aren’t far behind?

And again with the slick bangs. Not my cup of tea.

Fabio Ionà / Indigitalimages.com

Fabio Ionà / Indigitalimages.com

Fabio Ionà / Indigitalimages.com

Fabio Ionà / Indigitalimages.com

Fabio Ionà / Indigitalimages.com

Fabio Ionà / Indigitalimages.com

Fabio Ionà / Indigitalimages.com

Fabio Ionà / Indigitalimages.com

tommyh-01

Though everyone’s emphasis of this show seems to be on the fact that Kendall Jenner wore a bikini in it twice, let’s bring the attention back to the actual collection.

The theme was “rock ‘n roll circus,” and I think Tommy H hit that nail right on the head. A lot of the looks seemed so theme-centric that it was difficult to picture them outside of a costume party, but I think that a lot of the individual garments could work in a modern-day wardrobe.

I particularly loved both the knee-high boots and ankle booties, and I’m just a sucker for a high-hemmed patterned dress with sleeves. The sequined blue-to-black ombré dress was a little outside my character, but I enjoyed its darker take on girly glam. Hey, I’d wear it out, and that’s the point!

Plus that super-luxe red spangly fur vest screams rock star almost as loud as Mick screams “Gimme Shelter,” and I’m loving it. I mean, what’s impractical about a hugely heavy fur with no sleeves in a vibrant and super specific pattern?

Get off of my cloud.

Fabio Ionà / Indigitalimages.com

Fabio Ionà / Indigitalimages.com

Fabio Ionà / Indigitalimages.com

Fabio Ionà / Indigitalimages.com

Fabio Ionà / Indigitalimages.com

Fabio Ionà / Indigitalimages.com

dvf-01

Diane brought the heat in a gingham-packed collection, and let me tell you, I’d sit down at that picnic anytime.

The clothes were fearlessly feminine, which is a corner of the fashion arena DVF’s been defending heavyweight champ of for quite some time. But no complaints here! The spring pattern paired fabulously with an opaque skirt in the first dress below, and then again in another matching set (trend!) two looks down.

The beautifully green, black and yellow patterned coat was too pretty to leave off my list, and I’d bring the cheese and wine to every picnic for the rest of my life, if that particular garment would just materialize in my closet.

Yannis Vlamos / Indigitalimages.com

Yannis Vlamos / Indigitalimages.com

Yannis Vlamos / Indigitalimages.com

Yannis Vlamos / Indigitalimages.com

Yannis Vlamos / Indigitalimages.com

Yannis Vlamos / Indigitalimages.com

theend-01

And that’s all for now, folks!

Phew! That’s quite a lot, but the world always has room for more beauty. Particularly inside my closet. Hint, hint. Tell me which looks were your fave!

Leave a Reply

